Christmas


I have just done a work post over on our work page about Christmas, there are things that I nearly posted, but thought it was better to keep those comments for my personal blog!

So, Christmas! The crowds are starting to build in the City, shops filling up with shoppers, gifts being bought, but how many of these items are actually wanted? How many are bought and given, through obligation, without too much thought. How much money is being spent on poor quality items, plastic, trends and must haves? Children these days (gosh I sound like my Mum!) confuse needs, and always want! Adults must have the latest iphone, and fashions. How many 3 for 2 gifts do you buy, just because you are obliged to give someone something? How many of these things are needed? useful? or even appreciated?

If I am going to give a gift, what is more important is that what I am giving, I am giving with love, with thought, and imparting some of my energy. At the one extreme that would be thinking about someone, having an idea of something that they would appreciate, and hand crafting the item. Now, I don’t, and many of us won’t, have time, or the skills to make something from scratch. But alternatively, take a step back, and think carefully about the person that you are buying for, choose something suitable, and know that it will be appreciated.

I am fond of giving items that are personal, or capture or invoke memories, or things that can be treasured, or useful things.

 

 

Leave a Reply

