Me


April 2017

I’m a happy, and busy person. Rich in terms of experiences, love where I live, love where I work, and love my family.

Dec 2014

I thought I better write a bit of an update! I have been writing to this blog for several years now, before WordPress I had a LJ and before that another Blog, I have been blogging for around 8yrs. This blog is where I write about experiences, and make notes. I have written many recipes, blogged about preserving and brewing, but at the moment  I am keeping a record of my experience with Trigeminal Neuralgia.

I now live in the Countryside in an old Farmhouse which is over 200 yrs old. I live with my partner and 2 boys, I have a daughter who is at Uni and a Step daughter who stays with us every couple of weeks.

We don’t have any pets as such, but we have lots of wild animals on the Farm – Foxes, Badgers, Hares & Rabbits and many many birds.

My partner and I are self employed in a business partnership, we have several strings to our business. We are custom embroiderers, and sell over 3500 items of clothing. We are also event caterers, and make preserves. Alex also makes Theatrical props and weapons, while I make costume.

2012

Hi, I’m Sue, I will be blogging about the things I make and cook. I hope you enjoy it. I am writing this blog as a record for myself but also for you.

Blogging can be a bit lonely at times, sometimes I wonder if anyone actually reads or benefits from what I am writing, so please feel free to post comments, the more the merrier, tell me about your experiences, and how you got on if you try anything that I have posted.

I’m a stay at home Mum to 3 children, 2 cats and 5 chickens 🙂

I firmly believe that anyone can do anything in life, you just have to want it badly enough.
Live life to the full, never waste a minute.
Be independent, don’t be one of the brainless sheep.
Do what you want to do, not what others expect you to do.
Respect the planet and all living things.
You cannot control nature!
You reap what you sow.

I grow vegetables (although this year 2012, I probably won’t be!!)
Make alcohol – wine, mead, cider and beer.
I make bread, crackers, cakes, biscuits, etc,
I make all meals from scratch (I try to make one new recipe a week, and only allow myself one ‘crap’ meal a week).
I make cheese, I make yoghurt.
I keep chickens for eggs.
I forage for hedgerow fruits.
I buy most of my food from a Health Food cooperative.
I have chosen to stay at home, money can be tight, but the benefits outweigh the financial hardship!! I can spend more time bringing up my children the way I want to. I have time to make things from scratch, which makes such a saving, but mainly I know exactly what I am eating (there’s less packaging and less waste). Most of my raw ingredients I either grow, forage, or buy from an ethical community wholesale cooperative (Suma), I bulk buy, so don’t have excess packaging, excess expense and get good food for less money.

I have the time to grow my own veggies and keep chickens for eggs, time to cook from scratch, time to go foraging collecting fruits and berries for jams, chutney and wine.

I am vegetarian, I eat organic, avoid MSG, aspartame, GMO, and other nasty chemicals etc.

Other interests
I love nature, I am particularly fond of trees and orchards. I like to spend time surrounded by nature. I have a little bit of an obsession about learning, I love researching, reading journals and internet articles, and need ‘intelligent’ input.

I am fond of Archaeology, have volunteered on many digs, the most exciting was on the foreshore of the River Severn, a Mesolithic site, battling against the tide and getting caked in sediment, it was recorded for Time team! Yes, I have been on Timeteam!

I like listening to music, Live music and recorded music, I like to support local bands, I like to play instruments, have a fantastic ear for music and can mostly pick up any instrument and play it, although this is a skill that maybe I should have developed when younger (although at school I did play Clarinet, violin, bag pipes, flute, trumpet, guitar, piano, and in recent years I have played the Viola).

Spare Time
I don’t get very much spare time, but a lot of what I do is very enjoyable anyway. I hate TV, we do not watch TV in this house, it’s just a waste of time! I cannot relax, I am on the go all day long, I can relax when I sleep!
I do like to get away though, I like to crew at LRP or go to scooter rallies.

5 thoughts on “Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s